Mandan News

4-H youth compete at communication arts contest

Interpretive Reading (baci, l-r) Kelsie Schaff, Sarah Storick, Mariah Higgins, anne Storick, Kaylin Tomac, (front, l-r) Michael Storick, Ellie Bierman, Kathryn Goettle, Kourtney Schaff, Mary Storick, Emily Storick. Not pictured is Hannah Nehl. Submitted photos

On Jan. 21, Morton County 4-H youth participated in a Communication Arts Contest at Christ the King School in Mandan.

The following Morton County 4-Hers participated and received Awards of Excellence:

Margaret Bjelanovic, Preteen Demonstration; John Goettle, Preteen Demonstration; Dalton Sougstad, Preteen Illustrated Talk; Emily Henderson and Mariah Higgins,  Teen Dramatic Presentation-Team; Emily Henderson, Teen Short Take; Sierra Ellingson, Preteen Short Take; Hannah Peterson, Preteen Serious Interpretive Reading; Kaylin Tomac, Teen Serious Interpretive Reading; Kathryn Goettle, Preteen Humorous Interpretive Reading; Hannah Nehl, Preteen Humorous Interpretive Reading; Kourtney Schaff, Preteen Humorous Interpretive Reading; Michael Storick, Preteen Humorous Interpretive Reading; Emily Storick and Mary Storick, Preteen Humorous Interpretive Reading; Mariah Higgins, Teen Humorous Interpretive Reading; Anne Storick, Teen Humorous Interpretive Reading.

Other Communication Arts participants include Lauryn Hinckley, Elizabeth Wisinger, Olivia Henderson, Alyssa Thompson, Tyrza Hoines, Kelsie Schaff, Ellie Bierman, Sarah Storick, Elizabeth Wisinger, Cloverbuds: Samuel Wisinger, Adrian Sougstad, Garrett Nehl, Medora Ellingson, Maja Bjelanovic and Henry Bierman.

Communication Arts provides youth with an experience that helps participants develop communication skills that are useful throughout a lifetime by providing them an opportunity to gather and organize information, equipment and props for public presentation develop participants’ confidence in making public presentations and evaluate and enhance communication skills.

Commercial, Dramatic Interpretation, Short Takes (back, l-r) Emily Henderson, Tyrza Hoines, Alyssa Thompson, (front, l-r) Sierra Ellingson, Kaylin Tomac, Olivia Thompson.

Cloverbuds (l-r) Medora Ellingson, Adrian Sougstad, Judge-Tyrza Hoines, Samuel Wisinger, Henry Bierman, Maja Bjelanovic. Not pictured is Garrett Nehl.

Demonstrations (back,l-r) Dalton Sougstad, Lauryn Hinckley, Elizabeth Wisinger, Front L-R: John Goettle and Margaret Bjelanovic.