Mandan News

Athletes, teams named to academic all-conference

The following Mandan High School student athletes have earned the distinction of WDA Academic All-Conference for the fall 2012 sports season:

Boys cross country – Bryce Andresen, Jon Fishbeck, Adam Lech, Tyler Lundstrom, Curtis Zachmeier. Boys soccer – Colyn Haugen, Michael Helmers, Tracy Larson, Peter Liffrig, Klynton Lundstrom, Payton Schafer. Boys tennis – Nathan Berger, Erik Porter, Brandon Schaner, Austin Tweet, Benjamin Wanner, Connor Wieland. Football – Alex Froelich, Cullen Gress, Marcus Isaacs, Travis Keller, Jeremiah Petersen, Nathan Schmidt, Preston Schmidt, Brady Skytland, Alexander Spilman, Adam Stein, David White, Brady Zittleman. Cheerleading (football) – Macey Isaacs. Girls cross country – Alexandra Belohlavek, Emily Benish, Courtney Goetz, Tara Helfrich, Averey Himmelspach, Sadie Larson, Chelsea Peterson. Girls golf – Kayla Helbling, Savana Schauer, Carlie Borchers. Girls swimming and diving – Samantha Bussman, Sarah Curtiss, Ashley Doll, Georgia Kuntz, Grace Kuntz, Madison Makeeff, McKenzie Martin, Alexis Ogden, Grace Peterson, McKenna Quintus, Krista Sauber, Shaylee Schaf. Volleyball – Allison Froelich, Alexis Goldade, Stephanie Harr, Amanda Hillstrom, Samantha Leingang, Miranda Lowman, JaeLyn Russell, Sydney Sneed, Madysen Zander.

In addition to the individual student athletes, the MHS varsity boys tennis, boys cross country, volleyball, girls swimming and diving and girls cross country teams earned the NDHSAA Team Scholar Award. This award is given to NDHSAA sanctioned varsity teams that have a composite grade point average of 3.2 or better for the current nine weeks grading period they participate in the sport.

To be named to academic all-conference, students must be a member of a varsity team and achieve a minimum 3.6 grade point average during the nine-week period they are involved in the sport.