Mandan News

Boys hockey team goes 1-2 at west regions

By Brian L. Gray

With two loser-out games going into overtime in the west region tournament, the victory could easily have gone in any direction. The first game allowed the Braves to live another day, but the second one ended their season.

The Braves hockey team, after defeating Dickinson 4 to 3 in a loser-out overtime game, lost their next loser-out game to Jamestown at this year’s west region tournament.

The Braves first took on Bismarck in the quarterfinal round of the tournament, but fell in a shutout, 7 to 0. The game remained scoreless deep into the second period, but Bismarck stepped up its game to net seven straight goals before the end of the third.

The loss pitted Mandan against Dickinson in a loser-out game. Down 3 to 2 at the end of the second period, Mandan went on the offensive in the third period, forcing 23 shots on Dickinson’s goalie in an effort to score, overwhelmingly outshooting Dickinson, who had five shots in the period. The Braves’ Trevor Leingang was able to get a shot in, forcing a tie to extend the game into overtime.

It took only 31 seconds before Mandan’s Aric Riopelle directed a slapshot which was deflected off Brady Zittleman’s skate and slid its way into the goal, to seal Mandan’s win, and pulled the team ahead for the first time in the game.

The Braves also received goals from Jackson Wenstrom and Leingang in the win.

Mandan then faced off against Jamestown in a second loser-out game. The game did not start off well for Mandan, who slipped into a 3-0 deficit. The team then made its way back into the game, starting with a goal by Grant Aasand, assisted by Zittleman and Leingang. Roughly three minutes later the Braves’ Aasand struck again, this time on a rebound shot, putting Mandan down 2 to 3.

In the third period, Zittleman was able to force yet another overtime game, as he tied the game with less than six minutes to play.

But this game wouldn’t end in Mandan’s favor this time around, as Jamestown was able to score first in the overtime, sending them on to state.

The Century Patriots ended up defeating Minot 4 to 2 to win this year’s state championship. At the conclusion of the tournament two Braves, Brady Zittleman and Tre Kautzman, were both named to the west region all-tournament team.


West region results

Feb. 14-16

at Minot

Bismarck 7, Mandan 0

Feb. 14

Mandan    0 0 0 – 0

Bismarck 0 3 4 – 7

First period: No scoring.

Second period: 1. B, Nick Goulet 5 (Michael Matzke), 6:18. 2. B, Brandon Gieszler 11 (Bryce Eckman, Cooper Cox), 7:45. 3. B, Jared Spooner 21 (Quinn Irey), 14:40.

Third period: 4. B, Spooner 22 (unassisted), :34. 5. B, Spooner 23 (unassisted), 9:15. 6. B, Spooner 24 (unassisted), 10:13. 7. B, Dalton Sanders 2 (Bryce Nybo), 14:06.

Goalie saves: M – Tucker Bruington 10-6-11-27. B – Brett Malkmus 5-7-2-14.

Penalties: M 5 minor, 1 10-minute misconduct (checking from behind). B 2 minors.

Records: M 8-14; B 13-9.


Mandan 4, Dickinson 3

Feb. 15

Dickinson 2 1 0 0 – 3

Mandan    2 0 1 1 – 4

First period: 1. D, Alex Turcotte 9 (Brendin Steiner, Timothy Knudson), 5:46 (pp). 2. M, Jackson Wenstrom 6 (Tre Kautzman, Brady Skytland), 6:45. 3. D, Jayden Mink 7 (unassisted), 12:35. 4. M, Trever Leingang 7 (Kautzman, Wenstrom), 12:59.

Second period: 5. D, Anthony Kostelecky 1 (unassisted), 16:30 (pp).

Third period: 6. M, Kautzman 28 (Grant Aasand, Brady Zittleman), 4:21.

Overtime: 7. M, Aric Riopelle 3 (unassisted), :31.

Goalie saves: D – Jamie Gray 12-12-22-0-46. M – Tucker Bruington 8-12-5-0-25.

Penalties: D 7 minors. M 5 minors.

Records: D 8-15; M 9-14.


Jamestown 4, Mandan 3

Feb. 16

Mandan       0 2 1 0 – 3

Jamestown 1 2 0 1 – 4

First period: 1. J, Dakotah Spitzer 3 (Jake Stilwell), 11:13 (pp).

Second period: 2. J, Nick Watne 2 (unassisted), 2:11. 3. J, Stilwell 31 (Alex Williams), 7:42. 4. M, Grant Aasand 6 (Brady Zittleman, Trever Leingang), 8:17 (pp). 5. M, Aasand 7 (Zittleman, Jackson Wenstrom), 11:43.

Third period: 6. M, Zittleman 20 (Aasand), 5:52.

Overtime: 7. J, Stilwell 32 (Jakobi Lux, Williams), :32 (pp).

Goalie saves: M – Tucker Bruington 5-5-14-0-24. J – Ben Walz 6-6-7-0-19.

Penalties: M 10 minors, 1 game misconduct. J 4 minors.

Records: M 9-15; J 13-11.

West region awards

Senior athlete of the year: Alec Rauhauser, Century.

Coach of the year: David Hoff, Bottineau-Rugby.

All-region: Bismarck – Jared Spooner, Quinn Irey. Bottineau-Rugby – Harrison Aide, Cody Longie. Century – Alec Rauhauser, Mason Przybilla. Dickinson – Jamison Gray. Jamestown – Jacob Stilwell, Dakotah Spitzer. Mandan – Brady Zittleman, Tre Kautzman. Minot – Quinn Fuchs, Morgan Martelle, Breydan Effertz.