Mandan News

Braves alumni named into wrestling hall of fame

Mandan Brave alumni Delany Berger was among eight former athletes who were named inductees into this year’s North Dakota Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Berger, an MHS graduate from 1995, was inducted during the Class A and B State Wrestling Tournament in Fargo on Saturday, Feb. 16.

Berger, who now lives in Roseville, Minn., went undefeated during his junior and senior years and went on to win two consecutive state championships those years. He posted 144 career victories and at one point in his high school wrestling career had a 73-match winning streak.

After MHS, Berger went on to become a three-time letterwinner at the University of Minnesota, placing fifth and sixth in the Big 10 Championships. He was a member of Minnesota’s 1999 Big 10 championship team.

Among those named to the hall of fame were Troy Sabot and Mike McCormick of Century, former Bismarck Demon Kris Lengenfelder of Bismarck High, former Carrington wrestler Jason Anderson, former Hillsboro coach Ron Gadberry, former Velva coach Cy Kittelson and official David Rochoholz.