Mandan News

BSC recognizes outstanding academic students

Bismarck State College celebrated its scholars and outstanding students at the 44th annual spring Recognition Ceremony April 17 in the Bavendick Stateroom of the National Energy Center of Excellence.

The awards program honors achievement in the Phi Theta Kappa international two-year college honor society, All-USA Academic Team, Outstanding Students in degree areas, student Board of Governors, Phi Beta Lambda, and Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. Those selected as Outstanding Student, Who’s Who, and All-USA Academic Team nominees received certificates and a $100 cash award.

Local students named to Phi Theta Kappa from North Dakota were: Mandan – Heidi Belohlavek, Eden Butler, Ashlie Carnes, Brandi Davidson, Nicole Frohlich, Kellie Hoffman, Dakota Hoots, Joy Jochim, Shelby Johnson, Cyndy Laber, Tausha Lowe, Thereasa Newman, Cale Schafer, Devin Schaner, Elizabeth Schaner, Eli Severson, Jennifer Shaff, Eric Stockie, Jamie Vetsch. Almont – Garret Larson. New Salem – Tiffany Fletschock. Students nominated for Phi Theta Kappa membership maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better and completed 15 semester hours of associate degree work in residence at BSC.

Those chosen as outstanding students, followed by the category they were chosen, were: Mandan – Kenneth Bahm – agriculture, technology, food and natural resources; Angela Carter – phlebotomy; Justin Farrington – electrical transmission systems technology; Kelly Feigitsch – theatre arts, technical; Kaitlyn Fueller – foreign language; James Hatzenbuehler – management; Cody Morrell – process plant technology; Theresa Newman – geography; Austin Nodland – computer science; Elma Peterson – business administration. Students are chosen by faculty based on academic performance, achievement, character, leadership and contribution to the college.

Kenneth Bahm and Emily Paul, both of Mandan, were named to the Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges list. They were selected by representatives of the Faculty Senate and the Staff Senate on the basis of academic achievement, community service, leadership in extracurricular activities and future potential. They will be listed in the national “Who’s Who” volume.

Breann Harm, of Mandan, was named as a nominee for All-USA America. Students are chosen for their scholarly achievement, participation in honors programs and service to the college and community. Harm was also honored as a member of the board of governors, which is involved in leadership in college governance through participation on campus committees and sponsoring activities and community service projects.

The guest speaker at the ceremony was Dr. Brenda Werner, University of Mary associate professor in the School of Education and Behavioral Sciences. Master of ceremonies was Gordon Binek, BSC Foundation executive director and vice president of College Advancement.