Mandan News

Chiefs fall to Post 14

By Tribune Sports Staff
Lee News

The Mandan Chiefs got off to a rough start at the Class AA American Legion baseball state tournament on Tuesday.

Host Jamestown Post 14 rolled to a 10-0 lead on the way to a 10-2 victory over the Chiefs in opening-round action at Jack Brown Stadium.

Mandan (20-25) will take on the loser of today’s West Fargo-Minot contest on Thursday at 11 a.m. Jamestown (11-27) will face second-seeded Grand Forks tonight at 8 p.m.

Jamestown jumped out to a 1-0 lead in the top of the first inning. Ben Walz led off the frame with a single, stole second base and advanced to third on a Joey Gebhardt single. He later scored on Lance Weiser’s single.

Two innings later, Post 14 plated two runs after the second out. Weiser started the rally with a single, stole second and came in to score on a Tyler Ukestad single. Ukestad later scored on an error after stealing second.

In the top of the fifth, Nate Souis and Nick Fuchs each singled in a run before Walz smacked a bases-clearing three-run double to make it 8-0.

Post 14 added a pair of runs in the seventh to extend its lead to 10-0.

Mandan finally broke through in the bottom of the seventh with Zach Scott’s RBI double and Parker Harm’s run-scoring single, but that proved to be the extent of the Chiefs’ scoring.

Gebhardt, Jamestown’s starting pitcher, went the first seven inning, allowing seven hits and an earned run, while walking three and striking out five.

Walz went 3-for-5 for Post 14, which outhit the Chiefs 16-8. Ukestad, Soulis and Weiser all went 2-for-5.

Harm singled twice and double in four at-bats for the Chiefs. Jared Walters went 2-for-4, and Alex Weiand 2-for-3.

In the first game of the day, Fargo Post 400 downed the Williston Keybirds 9-5.

Kyle Glander homered twice for Post 400, which will play the top-seeded Bismarck Governors at 4:30 p.m., today. Zander Langevin also homered for the winners.

Jamestown Eagles 10, Mandan Chiefs 2
Jamestown 102 050 200 — 10 16 0
Mandan 000 000 200 — 2 8 4
Joey Gebhardt, Tyler Ukestad (7) and Shaun Hogan. Jared Walters, Ty Leingang (5), Zach Scott (6), Jeremy Friesz (8) and Trever Leingang. W — Gebhardt. L — Walters. HR — None.
Fargo Post 400 9, Williston Keybirds 5
Fargo 200 122 002 — 9 10 1
Williston 000 100 202 — 5 6 3
Alex DuBord, Conner Ryan (9) and Dave Mehlhoff. Matt Kohler, Austin Schell (7), Tyler Hagan (8) and Lane Huck. W — DuBord. L — Kohler. HR — F, Kyle Glander 2, Zander Langevin. W, Bailey Zaste.