Mandan News

Local honored at NDSCS Hall of Fame

The North Dakota State College of Science Athletic department is announcing seven new members into the Letterwinners Hall of Fame: Melissa Godlewski, Thomas Kinchen, Jr., Twila Leingang, Diane Ricker, David Sherbrooke and both the 1969 and 1989 Men’s Basketball teams. Inductees will be honored at the Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, October 5 in the Flickertail Dining Room in the Student Center on the Wahpeton campus.

Twila Leingang

Twila Leingang

Twila Leingang, of Mandan, is a 1987-89 two-sport athlete in volleyball and track, came to NDSCS from Bismarck, N.D. She was a member of the 1988 NDJC State Volleyball team that went on to win the Regional Tournament appearance for an NDSCS Volleyball team, ending with a 37-4-2 record. Leingang also participated on the 1987-88 and 1988-89 Regional Track Championship teams and competed at Nationals placing second in the Javelin in ’88 and first in ’89. She was awarded All-American status both years. Leingang and her husband, Troy, have three children, Trever, Ty and Taylor. She is a medical claim analyst working for Aetna in Mandan, N.D.

For more information, visit Follow NDSCS on Facebook at and Twitter at