Mandan News

Summer bandshell concert series underway

The annual Summer Concert Series kicked off this week, with free public concerts taking place every Monday to Thursday from 7:30 to 8:30 p.m. at Dykshoorn Park on West Main Street.

The Summer Concert Series will run each week through Aug. 15. Shows are held at the Dykshoorn Park bandshell, and are free to the public. This summer features local musicians showcasing a variety of music styles, with music for every age. People are encouraged to bring a lawn chair or blanket to sit on.

This upcoming week will feature these local performers: July 17 – West River Winds, marches, concert band; June 18 – Bill Franke and Solvei Stenslie, popular music; June 19 – Kaleidoscope Pit Band, show tunes; June 20 – Copperlight, pop rock.

West River Winds, a local community concert band directed by Ernie Borr, begins the concert series, and plays the Mondays of June 17 and 24.

The bandshell concerts will be on hiatus starting  Wednesday and Thursday, June 26 and 27, due to the annual Kaleidoscope Variety Show at the Mandan High School auditorium, and will resume on Monday, July 8.

Each Tuesday, the Mandan Dacotah Lions will be at the park from 5:30 to 8 p.m. to prepare and serve quarter pound burgers, brats, water, chips and coffee. Several times during the summer, pie, kuchen and other desserts will be served too.

Proceeds from sales made by the Mandan Dacotah Lions Club are returned to Mandan by donating to various local functions.

The summer’s full schedule of the concert series can be viewed online at musiciansassociation.org. All upcoming concerts will also be printed in the Meetings and Events section of The Mandan News. The full schedule can also be viewed below:

 

Mandan Bandshell Concert Schedule:

 

Monday, June 17

7:30-8:30

West River Winds – concert band music

Tuesday, June 18

Bill Franke and Solvei Stenslie – popular music

Wednesday, June 19

Kaleidoscope Pit Band – show tunes

Thursday, June 20

Copperlight – pop rock

 

Monday, June 24

West River Winds – concert band

Tuesday, June 25

Colleen and Friends – variety music

 

Monday, July 8

Dale Heinle – variety

Tuesday, July 9

Braveheart – folk music

Wednesday, July 10

Vic Schwahn and Friends – country, variety

Thursday, July 11

The Flashback 45 Band – ’50s to ’70s rock and roll

 

Monday, July 15

7:30-8:30

Lowdown Dirty Dogs – variety

Tuesday, July 16

The Levee – jazz, bluegrass

Wednesday, July 17

Ian Ridenhour & the Sonic Screwdrivers -

Thursday, July 18

Jim Geiger Trio – variety

 

Monday, July 22

Midnight Noise Orchestra – rock, country

Tuesday, July 23

Steve Harmon – original, folk, country

Wednesday, July 24

Bis-Man Elks Chorus – contemporary, spiritual and patriotic

Thursday, July 25

Freeway – classic rock, blues, country

 

Monday, July 29

Sweet Adelines – barbershop

Tuesday, July 30

Bob and Julie Dolajak – variety

Wednesday, July 31

Master Plan gospel

Thursday, Aug. 1

Summer High School Jazz Camp Concert

 

Monday, Aug. 5

Tapestry – variety, 50s-60s, country

Tuesday, Aug. 6

Braveheart (St. Alexius Back to School night)

Wednesday, Aug. 7

Hungry Five Band – old time music

Thursday, Aug. 8

Jamaican Me Crazy – Caribbean (Watermelon Night)

 

Monday, Aug. 12

The Prairie Meddlers – urban folk

Tuesday, Aug. 13

Dakota Keys – accordion variety

Wednesday, Aug. 14

Stealin’ Country – country, old time

Thursday, Aug. 15

Big Al’s Big Band (Ice Cream Social)