Mandan News

Locals voted in during Nov. 6 election

Morton County voters elected Bruce Strinden, Ron Leingang and Cody Schulz to the open seats on the Morton County Commission on Nov. 6.

Strinden, the only incumbent in the county commission race, is a rancher and business owner. Schulz, who lives in Mandan, works as a finance manager for state disaster recovery programs. Leingang, a St. Anthony resident, works as a farmer.

Strinden received the most votes with 6,089, followed by Leingang with 5,773 and Schulz with 5,754.

The three elected commissioners were challenged by Scott Johnson, Sue Bartholomew Balcom and Clint Feland.

Other candidates from Mandan were also competing on the national and statewide ballots. In a tight race that wasn’t decided until after 2 a.m. the day after the election, Mandan resident Heidi Heitcamp was elected to the U.S. Senate seat, defeating her Republican opponent, Rick Berg. Heitcamp received a total of 160,752 votes to Berg’s 157,758 to win the Senate seat made available by the retirement of Democratic Senator Kent Conrad.

Kirsten Baesler, the current Mandan School Board president, was elected as the superintendent of Public Instruction, earning 55.05 percent of the votes, defeating her challenger Tracy Potter, also of Mandan, who received 44.57 percent of the votes.

Mandan resident Ross Mushik, who ran as a Democrat for the seat of State Treasurer, was outvoted by incumbent Kelly Schmidt. Mushik received 34.02 of the votes, while Schmidt received 65.83 percent.

In District 34, Republican State Senator Dwight Cook received 4,125 votes to defeat Democrat Stacy Bendish, who had 2,531 votes. Those on Cook’s Republican ticket, State Representatives Nathan Toman and Todd Porter, were also elected to serve on District 34, defeating Democratic candidates Sid Kadrmas and Lori Furaus.

In District 36, Republican State Senator Kelly Armstrong won over Democrat Rich Braun, and Republicans Alan Fehr and Mike Schatz won the District 36 State Representative seats over Democratic candidates Bev Berger and Shirley Meyer.

-Brian L. Gray