Mandan News

Morton among ‘disaster’ counties

Morton Coounty is among North Dakota counties receiving an agricultural disaster declaration from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The agricultural designation makes farmers and ranchers in 31 primary counties and 15 contiguous counties eligible for supplemental disaster assistance and other federal programs because of major crop losses during the 2013 growing season.

The USDA has declared an agricultural disaster in Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Burleigh, Cavalier, Divide, Emmons, Grand Forks, Grant, Kidder, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Renville, Rolette, Sioux, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward and Wells counties.

The disaster declaration also makes federal assistance available to farmers and ranchers in 15 contiguous counties: Adams, Barnes, Cass, Dickey, Dunn, Eddy, Foster, Griggs, Hettinger, LaMoure, McKenzie, Sheridan, Stark, Steele and Williams.