Mandan News

Morton County 4-H members compete in consumer choice contest

Juniors (back, l-r) Brandon Hoines, Brittany Barnhardt, Savannah Samuels, Madelynn Klee, Ellie Bierman, Florence Mayer, Michael Storick, (front, l-r) Dalton Sougstad, Allison Smith, Margaret Bjelanovic, Kathryn Goettle. Submitted photos

The 4-H Consumer Choice Contest was held on June 5 at Christ the King School in Mandan.

Here are the Morton County 4-H members’ results from the contest:

Seniors (13-18 years old) – High Individual, Sara Storick, Eagles Wings; 2nd High Individual, Anne Storick, Eagles Wings.

Juniors (10-12 years old) – High Individual, Margaret Bjelanovic, Missouri Valley Bunch; 2nd High Individual, Michael Storick, Eagles Wings; 3rd High Individual, Dalton Sougstad, Go-Getters; 4th High Individual, Allison Smith, Go-Getters; 5th High Individual, Florence Mayer, Bismarck, Eagles Wings.

Beginners (8-9 years old) – High Individual, Mary Storick, Eagles Wings; 2nd High Individual, Elijah Mayer, Eagles Wings; 3rd High Individual, Sophie Klee, Missouri Valley Bunch; 4th High Individual, John Goettle, Missouri Valley Bunch; 5th High Individual, Mya Bjelanovic, Missouri Valley Bunch.

Cloverbuds (6-7 years old) – Olivia Mayer, Eagles Wings; Adrian Sougstad, Go-Getters.

The individuals from the Junior and Senior divisions make up the Junior and Senior Morton County teams. Both teams get to compete at the North Dakota State Fair at Minot in July.

Consumer Choice gives an opportunity for 4-H kids to practice making decisions by matching their knowledge, skills and abilities against others. They make decisions based on information that they have learned, studied and on facts that they have collected.

The kids are given a scenario about an article or product and rank them based on their standards and quality. Individuals that received the highest score in their division were awarded a gift certificate for Barnes and Noble sponsored by the Morton County Homemakers Club.

Beginners (back, l-r) Emily Storick, Elijah Mayer, Kylee Samuels, Grace Klee, Mary Storick, John Goettle, (front, l-r) Olivia Mayer, Adrian Sougstad, Mya Bjelanovic, Sophie Klee.

(l-r) Seniors Anne Storick and Sara Storick.