Mandan News

School board election on June 11

Three school board members will be decided during a Mandan School Board election on Tuesday, June 11.

Polling locations are the Brave Center, at 901 Division St. N.W., and Spirit of Life Church, at 801 First St. S.E. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Absentee ballots are available ahead of the election at the Brave Center.

Four candidates are on the ballot for the three seats. The candidates are Lorraine Davis, Wendy Egli, Lori Furaus and Tim Rector.

The terms of Kirsten Baesler, Karen Johner and Tim Rector expire this year. Both Baesler and Johner have decided not to seek reelection, while Rector is the election’s sole incumbent. Rector also serves as the board’s president.

The Bismarck Mandan League of Women Voters previously held an issues forum for candidates seeking election to the Mandan School Board. The forum was held Thursday, May 23 at Mandan City Hall. It is available for viewing online at

-Brian L. Gray