Mandan News

Zachmeier claims state title

Curt Zachmeier earned a state championship for the Braves at the boys state wrestling meet in Fargo. Zachmeier, a junior, won in the 132-pound division by defeating West Fargo senior Trevor Kringlie, cutting short what Kringlie was hoping to be a third consecutive title. Zachmeier won the finals match by winning 4-2 over Kringlie.

Three other Braves won in the top five of their respective weight class. Adam Stein finished in third after defeating Century’s Hunter Babeck 4 to 2 in the 152-pound weight class. Mandan’s Konnor Peterson took fourth at state in the 170-pound division, and Brandon Zachmeier claimed fifth in the 120-pound class, defeating Century’s Hunter Eckert 8 to 1 in the fifth place game.

Mandan finished overall in seventh with 79 points. The West Fargo Packers won with 232.5 points and three individual championships, a 19.5-point margin over runner-up Bismarck.


State wrestling results

Feb. 15-16

at Fargo

Team totals

West Fargo 232.5, Bismarck 213, Century 186.5, Minot 105, Grand Forks Red River 97, Fargo Davies 87, Mandan 83, Fargo North 80.5, Dickinson 80, Turtle Mountain 75.5, Valley City 75.5, St. Mary’s 64, Jamestown 63, Williston 62, Wahpeton 60.5, Fargo South 58, Grand Forks Central 47, Devils Lake 9.

106 pounds – Championship: Marlo Bell, FS, pin Taylor Nein, B, 5:00. Third: Marvin Berry, FS, maj. dec. Franek, WF, 15-4.

113 pounds – Championship: Kael Knowlen, B, maj. dec. Rodell Johnson, GFRR, 12-1. Third: Nathan Humann, C, pin Austin Hutzenbiller, D, 2:53.

120 pounds – Championship: Tom Walton, FN, maj. dec. Adam Blees, B, 8-0. Third: Tate Barnhardt, SM, dec. Juan Rodriguez, WF, 3-1. Fifth: Brandon Zachmeier, Man, dec. Hunter Eckert, C, 8-1. Consolation: Zachmeier, Man, dec. Bartsch, Min, 5-3; Barnhardt, SM, pin Zachmeier, Man, 1:36.

126 pounds – Championship: Jordan Shearer, WF, pin Sean Murphy, GFRR, 2:53. Third: Devin Berger, D, pin Logan Meyer, Wah, 2:08.

132 pounds – Championship: Curt Zachmeier, Man, dec. Trevor Kringlie, WF, 4-2. Third: Lane Kaseman, B, dec. Jaden Horsted, J, 7-5.

138 pounds – Championship: Cole Mehring, FD, maj. dec. Dane Fischer, SM, 12-1. Third: Kollin Kragnes, WF, dec. Forrest Pifer, B, 4-2.

145 pounds – Championship: Weston Dobler, WF, dec. Shane Undem, VC, 6-4. Third: Cody Haugen, Min, dec. Tate Hoffman, B, 6-2.

152 pounds – Championship: Bryce Fish, GFC, dec. Zane Braun, J, 4-2. Third: Adam Stein, Man, sudden victory over Hunter Babeck, C, 4-2. Consolation: Stein, Man, dec. Kragnes, WF, 6-4.

160 pounds – Championship: Ryan Blees, B, pin Shelby Schulz, WF, 1:47. Third: Hunter Bondeson, C, dec. Cole Alexander, FD, 13-0.

170 pounds – Championship: Ricky Galindo, B, pin Zach Doty, VC, 5:08. Third: Landon Schmidt, C, dec. Konner Peterson, Man, 4-3. Fifth: Tanner Kuznia, WF, dec. Jeremiah Goodman, FN, 8-5. Consolation: Peterson, Man, dec. Goodman, FN, 10-4.

182 pounds – Championship: Preston Lehmann, WF, pin Dillon Pierce, C, 1:03. Third: Alex Haaland, Wil, dec. Brandon Rodriguez, TM, 7-6.

195 pounds – Championship: Dayne Haman, Min, sudden victory over Drew Kary, B, 3-1. Third: Trace Moravec, C, dec. Jared Bertsch, GFRR, 8-4. Seventh: Alexander Spilman, Man, dec. Nathan Mugavero, WF, 7-5.

220 pounds – Championship: Olaf Hanson, FN, dec. Tommy Moravec, BC, 2-1 (Hanson wins via tiebreaker) Third: Demetreus Roby, Min, dec. Brandon Sandberg, Wil, 3-1.

285 pounds – Championship: Bryan Bjerk, GFRR, maj. dec. Hunter Swensen, FD, 14-2. Third: Shawn Greenwood, C, pin Steven Horner, VC, 2:27.