Mandan News

Zachmeier takes first at Bismarck Rotary

The Braves’ Curt Zachmeier captured first place in the 126-pound division, as Mandan finished 16th overall out of the 24 teams competing, with 82.5 points scored at the Bismarck Rotary.

The Bismarck teams took the top honors at the meet, as Bismarck placed first and Century finished in second.


Bismarck Rotary results

Jan. 4-5

at Bismarck Civic Center

Team Scores

1. Bismarck 199. 2. Century 184.5. 3. Rapid City (S.D.) Central 173. 4. Sidney (Mont.) 133. 5. Aberdeen (S.D.) Central 121.5. 6. Sturgis (S.D.) 117.5. 7. Williston 114. 8. Fargo Davies 112.5. 9. Turtle Mountain 96. 10. Grand Forks Red River 94. 11. Glendive (Mont.) Dawson County 93. 12. Jamestown 92. 13. Dickinson 87.5. 14. Rapid City (S.D.) Stevens 87. 15. Napoleon 84. 16. Mandan 82.5. 17. Minot 75. 18. Grand Forks Central 71. 19. Fargo North 70. 20. Wahpeton 69. 21. Fargo South 67. 22. Valley City 64. 23. St. Mary’s 45. 24. Beulah-Hazen 27.

Individual Results

106 pounds: Taylor Nein, Bismarck, def. Zane Joens, Sturgis, 5-0 (championship). Ethan Graves, Sidney, def. Tyler Pfeifle, R.C. Central, 3-2 (third). Buddy Heidinger, R.C. Central unattached, def. Marvin Berry, Fargo South, 6-1 (fifth). Jaret Lee, Dickinson, pinned Ryan Zachmeier, Mandan, 2:08 (seventh).

113: Marlo Bell, Fargo South, def. Nathan Humann, Century, 5-3, OT (championship). Austin Hutzenbihler, Dickinson, def. Paxton Mewes, Jamestown, 2-0, OT (third). Brody Jorensen, Sturgis, pinned Jaden Fettig, Bismarck, 2:36 (fifth). Brandon Zachmeier, Mandan, def. Jacob Berg, Wahpeton, 4-1 (seventh).

120: Gresh Jones, Sidney, def. Tommy Walton, Fargo North, 5-4 (championship). Terry Lavallie, Turtle Mountain, def. Keaton Ohlsen, R.C. Stevens, 7-0 (third). Tate Barnhardt, St. Mary’s, def. Hayden Hansen, R.C. Central, 7-1 (fifth).

126: Curt Zachmeier, Mandan, def. Jaden Horsted, Jamestown, major dec., 13-5 (championship). Jordan Moser, R.C. Stevens, def. Sean Murphy, G.F. Red River, 5-1 (third). Alan Heidinger, R.C. Central, def. Adam Blees, Bismarck, 8-2 (fifth).

132: Garrett Peterson, R.C. Stevens, def. Lane Kaseman, Bismarck, 3-3, ultimate tiebreaker (championship). Dillon Tennant, Dawson County, def. Tyler Forcella, Dawson County unattached, 2-1, OT (third). Jonathan Grunefelder, Napoleon, def. Devin Berger, Dickinson, 10-6 (fifth).

138: Cole Mehring, Fargo Davies, def. Griff Hieb, Aberdeen, 4-2 (championship). Jordan Stevens, Sidney, def. Dane Fischer, St. Mary’s, 5-2 (third). Dillon Beeler, Dawson County unattached, def. Layne Lantis, Dawson County, major dec., 10-0 (fifth).

145: Cody Haugen, Minot, def. Blake Stone, R.C. Central, 5-2 (championship). Mitch Johnson, Aberdeen, def. Tyler Kinn, Dawson County, 12-5 (third). Wyatt Meyer, Wahpeton, def. Tate Hoffman, Bismarck, 3-2 (fifth).

152: Zane Braun, Jamestown, def. Bryce Fish, G.F. Central, 3-1, OT (championship). John Frisco, Aberdeen, def. Michael Lehmann, Wahpeton, 9-4 (third). Shane Undem, Valley City, def. Martin Mueller, R.C. Central unattached, 3-0 (fifth). Hunter Babeck, Century, def. Adam Stein, Mandan, 7-6 (seventh).

160: Ryan Blees, Bismarck, def. Paul Michaelson, Williston, 11-5 (championship). Shane O’Connell, R.C. Central, def. Cole Bilbrey, Dawson County, 3-2 (third). Mathew Gross, Napoleon, def. Cody Christian, Sidney, major dec., 19-2 (fifth).

170: Ricardo Galindo, Bismarck, def. def. Landon Schmidt, Century, 4-2 (championship). Zach Doty, Valley City, def. Konnor Peterson, Mandan, 7-3 (third). Ryder Peterson, Sidney, pinned Darren Crissler, Fargo Davies, 2:12 (fifth).

182: Aero Amo, R.C. Central, def. Dayne Haman, Minot, major dec., 10-0 (championship). Brandon Rodriguez, Turtle Mountain, pinned Dillon Pierce, Century, 4:50 (third). Dace Fisher, Sidney, def. Zander Mairs, Fargo Davies, 3-0 (fifth).

195: Tommy Moravec, Century, def. Todd Kessler, Bismarck, 5-3, OT (championship). Waylon Decoteau, Turtle Mountain, def. Zack Corneliusen, Williston unattached, 2-0 (third). John Wilcox, Sturgis, pinned Bret Sandberg, Williston, 1:28 (fifth).

220: Andrew Beine, Napoleon, def. Jarran Jensen, R.C. Central, 6-4 (championship). Olaf Hanson, Fargo North, def. Brandon Sandberg, Williston, 11-4 (third). Sam Schaunaman, Aberdeen, def. Trace Moravec, Century, 4-2 (fifth).

285: Bryan Bjerk, G.F. Red River, def. Hunter Swenson, Fargo Davies, 8-3 (championship). Shawn Greenwood, Century, pinned Steven Horner, Valley City, 4:07 (third). Aaron Beaird, R.C. Central, def. John Wilson, Sturgis, 1-0 (fifth).


Jerry Halmrast Outstanding Wrestler: Aero Amo, 182 pounds, Rapid City Central.

Pinner: Amo, 4 pins in 2:51.

Quick pin: Waylon Decoteau, 195 pounds, Turtle Mountain, 16 seconds.